2017 Results

National Medal Winners for 2017

National Outdoor Singles Champions


Jerome Kirby (Gold)

John Bjornson (Silver)

David James Smith (Bronze) Quebec

The singles winners have been crowned in Wpg. amid weather that was virtually perfect outside of a few frosty mornings, and a windy medals day. 32 men and 11 ladies were in the competition. On the men’s side, three locals, Jerome Kirby, John Bjornson and Kevin Dusablon all made it to the quarter finals. The last time the competition was held here in 2015 it was two locals, John Bjornson and Leo Dusablon going for gold. This year was no exception with two locals, Jerome Kirby and John Bjornson going for gold. John Bjornson had won gold and silver the previous two years in this competition. However, this was Jerome Kirby’s break through year snagging the elusive and coveted gold title with John taking silver. Jerome has worked diligently at perfecting the sport, and now he has the coveted gold title to show for all his effort. The solid gold champ will be off to Australia in late 2018 to compete against some of the best on the planet in this discipline. Mb. as well as the rest of the lawn bowling country wishes Jerome all the best in his future completion. David-James Smith, a talented bowler from Quebec, won bronze.
SINGLES – Women’s

Mary Wright (Gold)     B.C.

Jordan Kos (Silver)     Sask

Marie Taylor (Bronze) B.C.

On the ladies side it was Mary Wright of B.C. winning gold. This marks two years in a row Mary has won gold. Jordan Kos, a youthful and talented bowler from Sask. walked away with silver. Marie Taylor, also of B.C., won bronze. Mary Wright and Pat Bird will be off to champion of champions in Australia in October. The lawn bowling country wishes these two great bowlers every success at their future competition.
PAIRS – Women’s


Clarice Fitzpatrick

Shirley Fitzpatrick Wong

The mother and daughter duo of Clarice Fitzpatrick and Shirley Fitzpatrick Wong captured gold in women’s pairs. This is sweet deja vu for the duo having won gold in this discipline in 2009 at the very same venue. Great job family team. Mb. is very proud of you and your accomplishment.
FOURS – Women’s


Sandra Mulholland

Brenda Frank

Betty Van Walleghem

Elaine Jones

The Mb. fours team of Sandra Mulholland, Brenda Frank, Betty Van Walleghem and Elaine Jones took home silver. They were up against a strong B.C. team that went through round robin unbeaten. Sandra, Betty, and Elaine have won many medals between them representing Mb. very well at numerous nationals. This year they have a newbie on their team, Brenda Frank. First nationals are very special for anybody, never mind winning silver at your first national. There is not too many newbie’s to the nationals that can make that claim. Great job gals. Mb. is very proud of you and your accomplishment.
TRIPLES – Women’s


Clarice Fitzpatrick

Marilyn Baron

Sharon Lozinski

Congratulations to the Mb. senior ladies on winning silver. In a close gold medal match the threesome were one down coming home giving up one more in the final end to lose 12-10. This marks the first trip to the  senior nationals for Sharon Lozinski bringing home silver. That’s quite an accomplishment to be proud of. This also marks the second medal for Clarice Fitzpatrick this summer having won national ladies pairs with daughter Shirley. Well done gals. You had a very good week.



John Bjornson

John Bjornson added another silver medal to his collection after losing to Hiren Bhartu in the gold medal match in the national indoor singles competition. That works out to four silver and two gold in national singles competition since 2014, an accomplishment truly to be proud of.



Rob Law

Congratulations to Rob Law on winning the bronze medal in the U25. Rob is the only person that can say he beat the gold medal winner not once, but twice, and in the same day as well. Well done Rob. Congratulations also to Cameron Lafresne of Nova Scotia and Carah Webster on B.C. on their gold medal wins. They’ll be off to Australia to compete in the world youth champi0nships this winter.


Team Manitoba

U25 – Rob Law

Men’s Indoor Singles – John Bjornson

Women’s Pairs – Shirley Fitzpatrick Wong and Clarice Fitzpatrick

Men’s Pairs – Leo & Kevin Dusablon

Women’s Triples – Anne Wright, Emilie Ammazzini, Jean Roeland

Men’s Triples – Bob Van Walleghem, John Bjornson, and Rob Law

Women’s Fours – Elaine Jones,  Brenda Frank, Betty Van Walleghem,  and Sandra Mulholland

Men’s Fours – Jerome Kirby, Gerry Venderbos, Bob Strong, & Gerry Moore

Senior Women’s – Marilyn Baron, Clarice Fitzpatrick, & Sharon Lozinski

Senior Men’s – Phil Clark, Brian Kullman, & Ed Mulholland

Mixed Pairs – Jerome Kirby & Elaine Jones

For Photos, visit www.facebook.com/bowlsmbinc

Screen shot 2017 flyers